Stevie Carroll (stevie_carroll) wrote,
Stevie Carroll
stevie_carroll

Books Read and Listened To Part Three

Final batch for now...

A Happy Accident
by Evan Tyler
Published by Amazon Digital Services
eBook
ASIN B00AHER9I0

http://www.amazon.com/Happy-Accident-Evan-Tyler/dp/0988446502/

Blurb:
A Story Inspired by Steven Tyler: The first book in a three-part series

It happened by accident, a lottery of events…

In 1988, a blind seven-year-old lay in a hospital room longing for her mother, unaware that eight years earlier a chance encounter occurred that would shape her life.

American musician Bobby Carter moved to Manchester, England with one objective—to become a major player in the postpunk scene of the late Seventies. His quest for stardom steers him in the direction of Kindle Hyrum, whose feistiness is only exceeded by her raw beauty. Though Bobby’s steady pursuit trumps Kindle’s cheeky resistance—sweeping them into present bliss—past secrets, new temptations, and a series of hapless and happy accidents will determine their future...and the future of a blind child.

Set to the lyrical soundtrack of the 60s and 70s, A Happy Accident is a story of love and choice that transcends the ages.

Goodreads:
https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/734521028

Reviewed at The Good, the Bad and the Unread.


Undressed
by Avery Aster
Published by Ellora's Cave
eBook
ISBN 9781419940736

http://www.ellorascave.com/undressed.html

Blurb:
Book 1 in The Manhattanites series.

Milan’s notorious playboy, Prince Tittoni, seems to have everything—Lamborghinis, exotic women, palaces throughout Europe and business success. Ramping up his fabric company to go global with a new apparel brand, he ruthlessly stops supplying fabrics to the American client who inspired the collection. But once they meet, what’s he willing to give to get her in his bed?

Goodreads:
https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/738992081

Reviewed on The Good the Bad and the Unread.


Under the Hill: Bomber's Moon
by Alex Beecroft
Published by Samhain Publishing
Print book
ISBN 9781609289423

http://www.bookdepository.co.uk/Under-Hill-Alex-Beecroft/9781609289423

Blurb:
The faeries at the bottom of the garden are coming back-with an army. Under the Hill, Part 1 When Ben Chaudhry is attacked in his own home by elves, they disappear as quickly as they came. He reaches for the phone book, but what kind of exterminator gets rid of the Fae? Maybe the Paranormal Defense Agency will ride to his rescue. Sadly, they turn out to be another rare breed: a bunch of UFO hunters led by Chris Gatrell, who-while distractingly hot-was forcibly retired from the RAF on grounds of insanity. Shot down in WWII-and shot forward seventy years in time, stranded far from his wartime sweetheart-Chris has been a victim of the elves himself. He fears they could destroy Ben's life as thoroughly as they destroyed his. Chris is more than willing to protect Ben with his body. He never bargained for his heart getting involved. Just when they think there's a chance to build a life together, a ghostly voice from Chris's past warns that the danger is greater than they can imagine. And it may take more than a team of rank amateurs to keep Ben-and the world-out of the elf queen's snatching hands... Warning: Brace yourself for mystery, suspense, sexual tension, elves in space and a nail-biting cliffhanger ending.

Goodreads:
https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/733827198

I read the two Under the Hill books back to back, and I'm very glad I did. Set pretty much in the area I grew up, the story is full of familiar landmarks and almost-familiar local eccentrics. Then there are the various inhabitants of the faerie realms and their very human prisoner, who has no idea which factions to trust and if there'll ever be a way for him to get back. Splendid stuff, although that cliffhanger ending would count as rather mean if I hadn't already had the second half queued up ready to read.


Under the Hill: Dogfighters
by Alex Beecroft
Published by Samhain Publishing
Print book
ISBN 9781619210554

http://www.bookdepository.co.uk/Under-Hill-Alex-Beecroft/9781619210554

Blurb:
Fight a fire-breathing dragon with a wooden airplane? It'll take a madman... Under the Hill, Part 2 Kidnapped by the faerie queen, Ben is confronted with his own supernatural heritage, a royal family and a lover he doesn't remember. His first instinct is to turn his back on them all and get back to Earth. Compared to this, Chris and his wacky cohorts seem almost...normal. Back on Earth, Chris Gatrell is having trouble convincing the police that he didn't do away with Ben and hide the body. Determined not to lose another sweetheart to the elves' treachery, he presses his motley crew of ghost hunters to steal a Mosquito bomber...and prays the ghosts of his WWII crew will carry them through the portal to Ben's rescue. Meanwhile, Chris's elf-trapped WWII love, Geoff, has a dragon and he's not afraid to use it. If only he could be entirely sure which of the elf queens is the real enemy-the one whose army is poised to take back planet Earth for elf-kind. In the cataclysmic battle to come, more than one lover-human and elf alike-may be forced to make the ultimate sacrifice. Warning: Dragons dogfighting with fighter planes, time travelers and reincarnated celestial beings are all very exciting, but have your hankies ready for a bittersweet ending.

Goodreads:
https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/734522845

The plot thickens, as straight after the cliffhanger ending of the previous book Ben and Chris are fighting on different sides of the divide to save our world from the inhabitants of the faerie realm. And it's still not obvious which faction are the good guys. Gripping stuff indeed.


First Term at Trebizon
by Anne Digby
Published by Straw Hat
Audio book
ISBN 9780140324181

http://www.bookdepository.co.uk/First-Term-at-Trebizon-Anne-Digby/9780140324181

Blurb:
Fresh from a London comprehensive, Rebecca Mason is plunged into life at Trebizon, the famous boarding school for girls. Lonely and anxious to prove herself, Rebecca decides to write something for the school magazine. But the piece that appears is not the one she intended and she unwittingly triggers a row which rocks the school. It's a good thing Rebecca has some new friends on her side!

For some reason I never read the Trebizon stories when younger, and this seems to be the only one the library has in any format. Fun listening on a car journey, but now I want to know what happens during subsequent terms.


The Governess Club: Claire
by Ellie Macdonald
Published by Avon Impulse
eBook
ISBN 9780062292179

http://www.avonromance.com/book/ellie-macdonald-the-governess-club-claire

Blurb:
For fans of Christina Dodd and Elizabeth Boyle. Claire Bannister just wants to be a good teacher so that she and the other ladies of the Governess Club can make enough money to leave their jobs and start their own school in the country. But when the new sinfully handsome and utterly distracting tutor arrives, Claire finds herself caught up in a whirlwind romance that could change the course of her future. Jacob Knightly has a secret. He is actually the notorious Earl of Rimmel. He's just posing as a tutor to escape his reputation in the city. He never expected to fall in love with the kind and beautiful governess. She is the first person to love him for himself and not his title. But when Jacob's true identity is revealed, Claire realizes she has risked her reputation and her heart on a man she doesn't truly know. Will Jacob be able to convince her that the Wild Earl has been tamed and that she is the true countess of his heart?

Goodreads:
https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/738992358

Reviewed on The Good the Bad and the Unread.


Regency Rumours
by Louise Allen
Published by Mills & Boon
Print book
ISBN 9780263906707

http://www.bookdepository.co.uk/Regency-Rumours-Louise-Allen/9780263906707

Blurb:
Following a disastrous incident at a house party, Lady Isobel Jervis is exiled to the country to avoid further scandal. At the imposing Wimpole Hall, she meets architect Giles Harker. He is as eye-catching as the elegant house, but shockingly arrogant -- and infuriatingly dismissive.

Despite himself, Giles is strangely drawn to the haughty Isobel, and stuns her with a secret kiss in the gardens. As the illegitimate son of an infamous scarlet woman, he knows love can be dangerous. Their growing attraction could come at the cost of both their reputations.

Goodreads:
https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/725605731

Another excellent period piece from Louise Allen, this time produced in conjunction with the National Trust. Beautifully researched and full of people acting perfectly in keeping with the period while not sticking entirely to doing the expected.
Tags: audio books, ebooks, good-bad-unread, goodreads, print books, reviews
Subscribe
  • Post a new comment

    Error

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.
  • 4 comments